Pembrokeshire Coast Path – Day 7

Date – 19 April 2017

Walked from – Newgale

Walked to – Whitesands Bay

Miles walked – 18.1
This walk, oil refineries aside, has been really pretty throughout. But today, perhaps because the sun (unexpectedly) shone for much of it, was really very beautiful. Brightly coloured flowers in hues of yellow and blue, pink, purple and white, were everywhere; black rock filled bays were lapped by turquoise waters; and the day was bookended with two spectacular beaches – Newgale, where I started in the gloom of the morning, and Whitesands, where I finished in brilliant sunshine. And then walked up hill for another mile and a half to get to my hostel…

There was also a lot more people on the Coast Path than there have been on previous days, probably because of the proximity to St Davids – Britain’s smallest City (it has that status because of it’s cathedral. I didn’t fancy going two miles off route to visit it today so I hopped on the bus to check it out after my early finish yesterday) and a tourist hotspot. It was nice to stop and pass the time of day with people, although most seemed to be taken aback that I was walking the whole trail in one go, and in 10 days – I know how they feel!

I also had my favourite hot chocolate break (and there’s been one every day so far) of the trip today. For today, at the National Trust cafe in Porthclais, I met three amusing ‘gentlemen of a certain age’ who sat down at my table, constantly talked over each other, and informed me they are all members of the St David’s Pen Knife Club – who are apparently required, when challenged by another member, to always produce said knife or face a penalty. Reminds me of the Whitstable Winkle Pickers club, which had me in fits of giggles for almost an entire afternoon last year – but that’s a different story, and one only my poor long suffering work colleagues need to be aware of. Before the cafe got busy, I also had a lovely chat with the lady who was running the place: National Trust, you’ve got a good one there. If you could just get the mint chic chip ice cream back in stock, all would be well with the world! 




About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

