South West Coast Path 9/9

Walked from: Porlock Weir, Somerset

Walked to: Minehead, Somerset 

Date: 28 February 2016

Distance: 9 miles 

Weather: Brrrr… Cold

Nearly eight years and some 630 miles after I started, I finished walking the South West Coast Path today. My guidebook informs me that anybody who completes the path will have climbed more than four times the height of Everest by the time they finish; and as my book says it, it must be true! I’ve walked parts on my own, others with a variety of friends, and the first few times with my now very much ex-partner… who turned out to be crap at walking up and down steep hills. I should have known then that we wouldn’t work out… 

The final nine mile stage of the walk was mainly a straightforward trot from Portlock Weir (with its fabulous restaurant and pub) to Minehead and its glamorous backdrop of Butlins Holiday Camp. A stumble along the pebbles of Portlock Beach was followed by the marshland near the tiny village of Bossington, and the hilltop walking near Selworthy Beacon and down into Minehead (an attractive town) was easy – if very ‘fresh’ in the freezing wind. But the haul up Bossington Hill ensured that the SWCP’s legendary steepness will continue to live long in my memory. 

Cornwall, Devon, Dorset and Somerset – thank you, you’ve been amazing. 

Photos: The beach at Porlock Weir / West Porlock / Mid-way up Bossington Hill / The top of Bossington Hill / finishing at Minehead

   
    
   

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to South West Coast Path 9/9

  1. Helen says:

    Fantastic! You’ve finished! I’ve really enjoyed reading about these hxx

  2. Helen says:

    Fantastic! You’ve finished! I’ve really enjoyed reading about these walks Hxx

  3. Karen says:

    Brilliant – very well done 🙂 Where to next ??

    • silkakt says:

      Well… The Yorkshire Wolds Way over Easter. I find it hard to believe I’ll be as lucky with the weather as I was with finishing the SWCP though!

Leave a Reply

