South West Coast Path 8/9

Walked from: Lynmouth, Devon

Walked to: Porlock Weir, Somerset 

Date: 27 February 2016

Distance: 13 miles 

Weather: Dry, bit windy, cold

The hills were back with a vengeance today as I continued my traverse of Exmoor National Park, but two friends joined me for today’s walk, which helped distract me from yet more ups and downs on the SWCP. 

We went a bit off route today on the approach from Countisbury to Butter Hill, which meant more off-roading down a steep, bracken covered and wind-swept hillside. Sensing a pattern? Back on route, Old Barrow Hill, Sugarloaf Hill and Tor Knap provided the other undulations of the day, while tiny Culbone Church, at 10.66m, merits a mention in the Guiness Book of Records – it’s England’s smallest parish church. And at some point in all this adventuring, we left Devon behind and strode on in to Somerset. 

The real joy of today’s walk was finishing: Porlock Weir is a gem of a place. I stayed at the excellent Cafe there (very nice rooms), had a couple of drinks in cozy and welcoming ‘The Bottom Ship’ pub, and had an excellent dinner in the exuberantly decorated, antique-filled restaurant ‘Miller’s at the Anchor’. My one overnight stay on the Somerset part of the SWCP was a good one. Although it’s possible that we didn’t need that last bottle of wine… 

Photos: Woods near Old Barrow Hill / Near Sugarloaf Hill / Culbone Church / Approaching Porlock Weir 

    
   

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

