South West Coast Path 5/9

Walked from: Barnstaple, Devon

Walked to: Woolacombe, Devon 

Date: 24 February 2016

Distance: 22 miles 

Weather: gorgeous! 

I’m tired and my feet may be about to drop off (yes, I believe it is a recognised medical condition), so I’ll keep this short. 

I walked a looooooong way today, but in the most beautiful weather imaginable. Quite a lot of it was flat, some of it was bumpy. There were more river estuaries for the first half of the day before getting back to cliff and beach action in the latter stages. The last three miles seemed to take forever to walk and my hotel in Woolacombe is really weird (you get what you pay for and I’m not paying very much at all) – but has incredible views… and a bath (bliss!) Oh, and as it really hasn’t been in the least bit windy today, I have to conclude that my face caught the sun.  

Think I’d better go have a lie down. Have some sun-drenched photos to prove I’m not lying through my teeth about the weather… 

Photos: The River Caen, from Braunton Marsh / Saunton Beach / looking back to Croyde Sands from Baggy Point / looking ahead to Putsborough Sands from Baggy Point / Sunsetting at Woolacombe 

    
    
 

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to South West Coast Path 5/9

  1. Peter Renwick says:

    Morning Silka
    What a trooper you are. Tough as old boots

    Cumbrian Pete your Pennine Pal

    • silkakt says:

      I’ve had terrific weather for the past four days, which has helped immeasurably! Annette is coming down to walk the last two days with me tonight, which should help me over the last few hills. x

Leave a Reply

