South West Coast Path 1/9

Walked from: Welcombe Mouth, Devon

Walked to: Hartland Quay, Devon
Date: 20 February 2016

Distance: 5.5 miles 

Weather: 40mph winds…

Home for the night: Hartland Quay Hotel

I’ve been walking the South West Coast Path for eight years now, and in some filthy weather, including pouring down rain and horizontal hail (as well as glorious sunshine). But despite the fact that in February two years ago I had to jack in a planned week of walking on the Path after three days because of the high winds, I. Didn’t. Check. The. Weather. Forecast. 

It was windy. In a ‘no-one else was stupid enough to be out there’ kind of a way. Checked the weather (retrospectively) when I got to my hotel, and it was 40mph winds with 50mph gusts – which would explain the getting blown over / clinging to a fence post for dear life/ crawling thing I was doing on one particularly scary stretch. Reader, it was a tough 5.5 miles (I know, it was short – that’s what happens when you start your day with a four hour train journey and a 40 minute taxi ride). Beautiful – but in a mad, bad, dangerous to know way. Life affirming, in that I am super clear I want to keep mine. 

The good news is that the wind is going to have dropped by Monday, so it’s just one more day of potentially renegotiating my route away from the cliff path because of high winds. And then hopefully I can crack on with walking my last 110 miles of the South West Coast Path 🙂 

Photos: Welcombe Mouth / Fence suspend in mid air near Elmscott (The footpath did the whole falling into the sea thing) / Best sign post EVER – hurrah for the valley route, even if it was mudagedon) / view from Hartland Quay 

   
    
 

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to South West Coast Path 1/9

  1. Ana says:

    “Life affirming, in that I am super clear I want to keep mine.” 🙂 Seems very bracing out there for our Woman and her maps! Good job downloadable ones don’t flap in the wind and slap one about the face. Now THAT would be life affirming. Keep it up, lady!

Leave a Reply

