Hadrian’s Wall Path

Walked from: Bowness-on-Solway

Walked to: Carlisle 
Distance: 15 miles

Stayed: YHA, Carlisle

Weather: Dry. Apart from that bit where it poured down and I got soaked…

I’ve given myself five days to walk across the country. Admittedly it’s the skinny bit, the equivalent of the neck of Great Britain, but it’s still 85 miles and I’m walking in the footsteps of the Romans the whole way, tracing the line of Hadrian’s Wall. Whoop, etc! 

There weren’t any actual traces of the wall to be seen on today’s walk, but there were some lovely views over to Scotland across the Solway, and the River Eden, and if there was a little too much road walking at points, this flat route made for a quick and quite pretty 15 miles. And as I started at the absurdly early time of 7am, I was finished by noon!

Would love to talk to the ‘gentleman’ in the 4WD who went through a puddle at speed and soaked what little of me wasn’t wet already from the very heavy rain shower I’d misjudged as a spot of light rain. When you’re warm and dry inside a car there’s really no need to act like an arse to those of us who are dealing with the weather on a more interactive basis… 

Photos: The start point of the walk, at Bowness / Approaching Port Carlisle / View over the River Eden to Scotland / Carlisle Castle / Carlisle Cathedral 
   

  

  

  

About silkakt

I love to explore countries on foot. An English woman, I started hiking camino routes in 2015 (after completing all the national trails in England and Wales)… although I still get some UK hiking in too - most notably John O’Groats to Land’s End in 2021! Hiking is magical. Not always at the time, but after a hot shower (or even better, a long, hot bath) and food / drink, it’s transformative - for mind, soul and body (in that order). When not walking, I work on public transport projects in the UK and live in leafy (really, it is!) South East London.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment