The Pennine Way, Day 13

Date: Wednesday 3 June 2015

Walked from: Alston, Cumbria 

Walked to: Greenhead, Northumberland

Distance: 16.5 miles

Stayed: Greenhead Hotel

Weather: Quite nice actually

What a difference a day makes! After the less than accommodating weather of yesterday, today’s 16.5 miles was dry above my head if not underfoot, and the wind dropped to boot. Hurrah!

Annette and I started the day by bumping into Ken as we were leaving Alston, and although we walked the first half of the day – through the farmland to the north of Alston and via the brilliantly named hamlet of Slaggyford – without him, we caught up over lunch at the Kirkstyle Inn at Knarsdale and walked the rest of the way to Greenhead together.

The highlight of my day was being immensely pleased with myself for navigating my way across the vast expanse of Blenkinsopp Common without getting lost, although sinking ankle deep in big and feeling the water pour in over the top of my boots seemed to be an unavoidable experience…

Thanks go to the friendly golfers of Haltwhistle Golf Club, who were very nice about the fact that we went slightly the wrong way across their greens at the end of what had been a pretty long day.

   
 

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

