The Pennine Way, Day 5 

Date: Tuesday 26 May 2015

Walked from: Ickornshaw, West Yorkshire

Walked to: Malham, North Yorkshire

Distance: 17 miles

Stayed: Lister Arms

Weather: Dry, fresh and often sunny. Perfect!

The word ‘glorious’ was invented for walks like the one we did today. Great walking weather (fresh but often sunny), incredible views, canal side wanders, riverside meanders, lambs, ducklings, flower-filled meadows, a lunchtime cafe, a sweet shop sent from heaven, such was its perfection of confection … and singing along to a You Tube clip of Kate Bush’s Wuthering Heights on the top of a moor (ok, it was ALMOST a perfect day!)…
Spectacular views from Pinhaw Beacon, great cheese and onion toastie at Abotts Harbour Cafe, the best sweet shop ever in Gargrave, more fab views from Eshton Moor and then a (predominantly) river side potter into Malham. 

Photos: View of the ‘salt and pepper pots’ hill near Ickornshaw / walking buddies at Pinhaw Beacon / Dalesman Cafe at Gargrave / the approach to Malham 

   

  

  

 Photos: 

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

