Offa’s Dyke, Day 7

Date: 29 May 2014
Walked from: Pool Quay, Wales
Walked to: Kingswood, Wales
Walked with: Annette
Distance: 8 miles
Stayed: Heath Cottage
Weather: A damp kind of a day

Today started off with a good breakfast at The Powis Arms pub, where we stayed last night. The owners, Andy and Leanne, only took it over at Easter and I hope it works out for them – they are really nice people and the pub’s got real potential, both as a community pub and as a bit of a walkers’ haven. If you’re heading their way (after 4pm, when they open), pop in!

Today was the shortest leg of the walk, entirely by accident, not by design, but it worked out well as it gave us a bit of a rest and meant we avoided walking in the rain, just a bit of drizzle.

I’ll be honest: it wasn’t an exciting day of walking, thanks to the dampness and not great visibility. We started off back along the Montgomery Canal again before heading cross country / bumping into the River Severn and then heading up hill (encountering more arsey cows along the way – what is it with the bovine attitude in this area?) for the slog up to another hill fort – in this case the Iron Age Beacon Ring. Because there’s only so long a circular embankment of earth can waylay me for we moved on quite quickly, back down the hill again to a trawl through the forestry land of the Leighton Estate and into Kingswood, where we arrived far earlier for our B&B than either we or our hosts were expecting…

Luckily the early finish gave me time to do what some people normally want to do on holiday: nothing much. Quite enjoyed it, but wouldn’t want to do it everyday!

The oddest thing about today was when Annette and I got chatting to the couple also staying at our B&B. I realised we had seen them (‘welly lady’) on the trail a few days before and when they started their tale about picking up an abandoned pair of glasses on the route thinking they were theirs, Annette and I were able to ask them the key questions: 1) were they verifocals? 2) did they find them a while after Chirk Castle? The answers were 1) yes and 2) yes… which means we can reunite them with their rightful owner as our walking pal Peter lost them on Day 4! Ah, the small world of the Offa’s Dyke Path 🙂

20140529-223336-81216285.jpg

20140529-223334-81214035.jpg

20140529-223335-81215837.jpg

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

