Cornwall Coast Path – Port Issac to Boscastle

Walked from: Port Issac
Walked to: Boscastle
Walked with: Annette
Distance: 14 long miles
Home for the night: The Wellington
Weather: Lots of it
Photos: Delabole Point / Jacket’s Point / Rocky Valley / looking back from Willapark

Today was a series of steep climbs and descents punctuated by a wide variety of weather conditions and random sights; tap dancing seagulls in Port Gaverne, (sea)foam parties in a large number of coves, and a castle reputed by some to be built on the birth place of King Arthur (where Annette and I might, just might, have had a pretend sword fight). It was also a day of walking through a very beautiful landscape with very few other people around – we didn’t see a soul for the first three and a half hours!

It should be noted that not all 14 miles are created equal. Some are really easy. This particular set of miles consisted of quite a lot of hard ones, exacerbated by the slowing effect of a pretty fierce winds – which would explain why it took us the best part of eight hours (less 40 minutes for lunch) to complete… As it’s still early February, that meant we rolled into pretty Boscastle right around the same time as dusk.

There are about four deep valleys in a row near Jacket’s Point where you suffer the heartache of climbing steeply out of one only to (almost immediately) begin your descent into the next. Cornwall has some harsh geographical features going on and they were in full evidence today. Tomorrow isn’t looking great either!!!

Luckily we were blessed with a pub at lunchtime today. Even better, it was nice – thank you for being there to The Port William pub in Trebarwith Strand; the lemonade was much needed, the pork burger was delicious and the wifi was pretty whizzy!

I had thought the post-lunch bit would be easier than the first half of the day, and the bit to Tintagel Head and the ruins of the castle was fairly straightforward, but I hadn’t noticed the National Trust’s ‘Rocky Valley’ on the map. Oh, and the rain came… But now I’m in my hotel, I’m clean and dry and I’m going for a beer. Good times. Who wouldn’t go on a walking holiday in Britain in February!

20140210-184907.jpg

20140210-184924.jpg

20140210-184959.jpg

20140210-185022.jpg

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cornwall Coast Path – Port Issac to Boscastle

  1. What lovely pictures you’ve taken for this blog! Reminds me how wonderful and dramatic the British landscape can be. Makes me realise I should get out of East of Dulwich, or even London, once in a while.

Leave a Reply

