Cornwall Coastal Path – Gorran Haven to Charlestown

Walked from: Gorran Haven
Walked to: Charlestown
Walked with: Me!
Distance: 11 miles
Home for the night: T’Gallants Guesthouse
Weather: Dry, still, sunny later. Fab really.
Photo: View

20130920-165517.jpg

Fabulous walking today. Beautiful scenery, perfect weather.

I started off my day with a stomach lining breakfast made by Bob (who also paints some lovely, and very colourful, pictures) from Harbours Reach B&B. I can highly recommend both his hot chocolate and his scrambled eggs: delicious. Thanks Bob – I didn’t get hungry again until nearly 2pm!

The walk to Mevagissey was pretty straightforward, and I took my time chatting to couples I met along the way and admiring the still sea and dramatic green fields. There were also quite a lot of peeing sheep, but I don’t suppose it’s polite to talk about them. Not in any great detail anyway…

Mevagissey itself seems like a nice, if touristy, place to spend some time, and it does that picturesque thing very well. The walk from there to the little village of Pentewan was a little harder than my guidebook said it would be… But the walk up to Black Head which followed was easier than the authors had suggested: I reckon they must just have been tired by that point! I recommend the stone memorial to Cornish poet & historian AL Rowse (on the approach to Black Head) as a great spot to sit back and enjoy the sun while enjoying the consumption of a huge Cornish Pasty and 7up lunch.

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

