NYC to Florida – Day 21

20110514-234226.jpg

(picture: close encounters of an alligator kind)

Date: 13 May 2011
Woke up in: Point South, South Carolina
Fell asleep in: Savannah, Georgia
Miles ridden today: 47
Total miles ridden so far: 1,194
Weather: Hot. Humid. Horrid.

We crossed over the border into Georgia today. Normally we’d stop at that point, congratulate ourselves on reaching yet another State, and take a picture. There was a Welcome to Georgia sign, and it was a nice jaunty blue one with on a peach on it at that. But we didn’t stop. In fact, I pedalled past it at around 19 mph. Because we were cycling down a stretch of road known as Alligator Alley at the time. And having seen just such a beast, live and in all its horrid, primordial flesh just 10 miles or so before (and startlingly close to where we were cycling), we weren’t in the mood for stopping in the middle of a reserve where they are protecting the nasty creatures.

Will’s done a fair bit of research and hasn’t found any internet-based evidence that alligators attack cyclists, but we’re not about to become the first. He did, however, stop and take a picture of the ‘gator’ we saw earlier in the day (for lunatic reasons best known to himself). It’s difficult to make out from the picture above, but I can assure you that the alligator in question was about 5 meters long and flashed me an evil (hungry?) glare from those malevolent, cruel eyes of his.

Clearly I have a previously undiscovered issue with alligators; an issue not helped by Will educating me on a few key facts about them – like they can move at up to 30mph on land…

In other news of the day, the humidity continues to be a major problem, and my knees have decided they don’t want to cycle much further. We’re about 125 miles away from the border with Florida now though, and the end is almost in sight. Hurrah!

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NYC to Florida – Day 21

  1. Barb Smyrl says:

    Hi Silka and Will – Still keeping up with you on your famous ride….. congrats on your achievement so far. I had heard alligators can run at a spurt of 35 mph….whoa…..
    Take care, and lots of luck – Barb

Leave a Reply

