NYC to Florida – Day 15

20110505-203945.jpg

(picture: A real live Piggly Wiggly store – and there was me thinking it was a made up place from ‘Driving Miss Daisy’!)

Date: 5 May 2011
Woke up in: Ocracoke, Outer Banks, North Carolina
Fell asleep in: Cedar Point, Carteret County, North Carolina
Miles ridden today: 69
Total miles ridden so far: 798.5
Weather: Sunny, but with a cold wind. Brr…

We kicked off today with a 6.30am alarm, in order to catch the 7.30am ferry that transported us over a choppy sea for two and a half hours before depositing us back on the mainland. Farewell Outer Banks, you were awesome.

A very exciting thing happened today; we had the wind pushing us rather than punishing us for large parts of the day. That meant we could cycle a fairly easy 15-16 mph rather than battle to do a measly 12 mph. Hurrah! Those of you that cycle will so get what I mean. It does appear to have changed direction again now though. Boo…

We spent the first half of today cycling along the scenic and quiet roads in or near Cedar Island – a low lying area which is home to the wonderfully, and accurately, named settlement of Sealevel.

Then we saved some time – and miles – by a bit of urban cycling along North Carolina’s route 24. Not the prettiest or calmest of routes but it did allow me to fulfil a long held ambition – I finally got to go to a real live Piggly Wiggly grocery store ( http://www.pigglywiggly.com )in Beaufort, North Carolina.

Yes, they do actually exist and aren’t just a fictional store that happens to get name dropped in a lot of films based in the US southern states. We couldn’t bring ourselves to buy anything in there though – its layout and decor hadn’t left the 1970s, and I was worried their stock might date back from then too…

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

