NYC to Florida – Day 5

20110422-161706.jpg

Date: 21 April 2011
Woke up in: Peach Bottom Inn, Delta, Pennsylvania
Fell asleep in: Baltimore, Maryland
Miles ridden today: 38
Total miles ridden so far: 230
Weather: Really quite windy. But sunny too!

Today was Will’s birthday. Happy Birthday Will.

As a special treat the weather gods were kind and the sun shone (although it was still pretty cold) and while it was hilly there were more downs than ups – proof that sometimes life can be good when things are going downhill!

We crossed the border into Maryland just two miles into the start of our ride; stopping, as you’ll note from today’s picture, for the obligatory state sign photo. Crossing into Hartford County in Maryland everything seemed to get more prosperous – lots of very big houses surrounded by manicured lawns, and although we heard the dogs barking at us, no ‘slathering at the mouth’ beasties gave chase!

After our lunch stop at The Manor Tavern, we parted ways with the main Adventure Cycling Association Atlantic Coast route we’ve been following, taking their alternate route through to Baltimore instead. Obviously I don’t know what we’ve missed on the main route, but the ride through Loch Raven Reservoir was very pretty, and seems deservedly popular with our fellow cyclists.

From there, the final eight miles or so into Towson, Baltimore, were also a ride back through memory lane, remembering the places I used to go when I worked in the area (a mere 17 years before). It was good to be home!

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NYC to Florida – Day 5

  1. Gina says:

    Funny that you spent time previously in Towson. I graduated from there!

    Small world.

    Ride safe.

    Gina

  2. Barb Smyrl says:

    Hi Silka – This is amazing! I will surely follow your and Will’s progress – quite an undertaking…….will bookmark this page – luv Barb

Leave a Reply

