NYC to Florida – Day 4

20110420-222850.jpg

(The photo is of the Susquehanna River, PA)

Date: 20 April 2011
Woke up in: Manheim, Pennsylvania
Fell asleep in: Peach Bottom Inn, Delta, Pennsylvania
Miles ridden today: 46
Total miles ridden so far: 190
Weather: Foggy. Then sunny. Then lots of gusting wind, but the predicted storm failed to materialise: yay!

I’ve come to the conclusion that Pennslyvania is a hilly state. This is based on the fact that we’ve had three and a half days of going sloooooowly up and quickly down the sodding things. The most heart (and thigh) breaking one happened shortly after lunch today. If you’re ever in York Furnace by the Susquehanna River, I’d strongly encourage you to enjoy the freewheeling down to it on a bicycle but try and get a lift back up: it was hard work! Still, we’re only two miles away from the border with Maryland now, and I’m hoping its terrain will be much kinder to me. Flat and downhill conditions are both welcome…

Bad things that happened today: there were a number of very aggressive dogs that either threatened to or did attack our bicycles. That was a bit scary. Oh, and climbing up the hills, obviously.

On the plus side… I hit a maximum speed of 41.7 mph cycling down a hill today (fun but scary but fun). It didn’t rain on us once. A lot of the scenery was very pretty. And we got to stay and eat at the Peach Bottom Inn, a proper American Motel place; except much nicer because the staff are very friendly and there haven’t been any shootings, which always seems to happen in the fictional motels you see on the telebox.

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

