NYC to Florida – Day 2

20110418-221332.jpg

Date: 18 April 2011
Woke up in: New Hope, Pennsylvania
Fell asleep in: Warwick Woods Campsite, Pennsylvania
Miles ridden: 66.3
Weather: Overcast but dry – and no wind.

Pennsylvania appears to be quite hilly. Or at least the bits we’ve cycled through today have been anyway – we’re knackered and more than a bit saddle sore.

We’ve been through more affluent areas, one much poorer one, and had a great 9.5 mile run on an off-road bike path called the Schuylkill River Trail (nope, I don’t know how to pronounce it) that was ever so slightly downhill all the way. We also cycled through Valley Forge National Historical Park, which i must google…

Will also got his bike fixed and is now the proud owner of a full set of gears! They came in handy this afternoon, that’s for sure… Bloody hills! Did I mention there were lots of hills today?

It’s our first night of camping – a lack of grocery stores meant we had to dine on some tins of Campbells Chicken Noodle Soup – which was pretty horrible. I’m too tired to type any more, so that’s all for now folks. I’m very impressed that the campsite has wifi though!

Zzzzzzzz….

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NYC to Florida – Day 2

  1. TJ says:

    Campbells hot isn’t too bad but cold? No way man!

  2. TOB says:

    66 miles?! Yikes. No wonder you two are saddle sore!x

  3. Gina says:

    I found you using the hashtag for the ACA Atlantic Coast Route. I’ve ridden some of those roads when I lived in MD, and yes, it is hilly! Beautiful, but hilly. I hope the weather dries out a bit for you.

    I’ll be going north of Boston this summer with my 14 y.o. son on the Atlantic Coast route, but might choose south from Massachusetts some day, so I’ll be very interested in your experiences. Thanks for sharing them.

    By the way, it’s ‘School-kill’

    Gina, also a map lover
    Pedal Paradise
    pedalparadise.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

