West Highland Way, Day Three

Walk: Rowardennan to Inverarnan
Distance: 13.5 miles
Accommodation: ‘the World Famous’ Drovers Inn
Date: 20 September 2010
Walked with: Tracey
Pubs: The Drovers Inn

I awoke today to the sound of the rustling of plastic bags. A sound that pervades dorm room across the world. That person who has packed every single item they own in a Tesco carrier bag. And then feels compelled to re-pack their bag in the dorm room when it is VERY early in the morning. I do not like that person. That said, tonight I have my own room, which apparently has 305 year old (thin) haunted walls. And some very athletic sounding neighbours. Difficult to say if I hate the bed springs or the plastic bags more…

Anyway, today I love Scotland, because today Tracey and I had the most beautiful weather while we traversed 14 odd miles of spectacular loch-and-hill-side landscape. Low lights were the three mile scramble up and down and up again across the rocks north of Inversnaid and the lack of phone reception which meant I couldn’t speak to Will. Highlights were: walking past Rob Roy’s Highland hideout, paddling in Loch Lomond, the fantastic forest track north of Rowardennan, the spectacular views from the very north of Loch Lomond – in all directions – and the nice people we got chatting to in the Drover’s Inn. Not so sure where on the list to put the pub itself. It’s definitely full of character and stuffed animals (and ghosts, apparently) but only tonight’s quality of sleep will finally decide… And frankly I’m sure they could find a way to keep the character of the place AND give it a bloody good clean!

About silkakt

I'm a map addict. I nip out in my lunch break to go to the National Map Centre, just around the corner from where I work, to feed my habit. My fix normally costs £7.99 and comes in the form of an OS map, although I'm a big fan of Sustrans cycle maps, the Trailblazer walking guides and maps of the world too. And once I've got my new map, I start plotting - routes, adventures and an escape away from the office that I spend too much time in. Maps, quite simply, make the world a better and more exciting place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

